Oklahoma offensive coordinator Ben Arbuckle didn't just pull a fast one on Auburn's defense, but also the SEC officiating crew.
The Sooners scored their first touchdown of the day against Auburn with a long 24-yard pass from John Mateer to Isaiah Sategna III in the second quarter. The score broke a 3-3 tie in what had been a defensive stalemate.
Isaiah Sategna III scores TD vs. Auburn
Sategna was so wide open it was as if the Tigers didn't even know he was there, which ended up being the case. Just before the play, Sategna gradually walked toward OU's sideline, then, with no one on him, Sategna streaked up the sidelines for an easy six points.
Easy into the end zone 🤲
— Oklahoma Football (@OU_Football) September 20, 2025
📺 ABC pic.twitter.com/inXsX7m4UI
Auburn head coach Hugh Freeze was livid, because like ESPN's rules analyst Matt Austin pointed out, using the substitution rule to pretend a player is leaving the field is illegal and should result in a 15-yard unsportsmanlike penalty. The crew never noticed what the Sooners did, though.
Here's Austin's explanation:
Did Oklahoma use the substitution rule to deceive Auburn? If so, obviously illegal, according to Matt Austin, ESPN's rules analyst. Hard to judge intent. pic.twitter.com/4YWgYv2Ss2
— Gabe Burggraf (@GabeBurggraf) September 20, 2025
Matt Austin on NEW ANGLE with receiver nearly out of bounds on Oklahoma touchdown. By rule (wording wise, legally) meets requirements for no penalty, but you be the judge!
— Gabe Burggraf (@GabeBurggraf) September 20, 2025
"You can't go off and pretend you're leaving and still stay on." pic.twitter.com/n0cBv0Bn84
The ABC crew tried to give OU the benefit of the doubt that it just looked like that was the case, but on the radio broadcast, Teddy Lehman said Bob Stoops told him that the Sooners had practiced that play all week. So, in reality, yes, it should have been a penalty for the Sooners, but instead, it was a touchdown.
According to Lehman, the plan was for wide receiver Deion Burks to jaw at Auburn's defensive backs as a distraction while Sategna went toward the sideline without ever actually subbing out.
This was the second controversial play of the game that Sategna was involved in. On OU's first drive of the game, Sategna dropped a pass that was initially ruled a fumble that Auburn returned to the end zone. After a lengthy review, the play was ultimately ruled an incomplete pass, even though Freeze and Auburn fans strongly disagreed.
This was ruled an incomplete pass upon review.
— Barstool SEC (@SECBarstool) September 20, 2025
Thoughts? pic.twitter.com/K4412DoxSA
Read more about OU football