NCAA 13 leaves out OU from new game mode


If you haven’t been keeping up with the details being released by EA Sports about their new installment of the NCAA Football series, or just don’t care, then you will probably be happy to know EA Sports has added a vintage feel to the game.

The upcoming NCAA Football 13 will include a Heisman Challenge mode, which will allow players to use past Heisman winners in the game like never before. If you are a long-time NCAA Football fan, then you remember the game once had a feature where you could play classic college football games and recreate the result.

However, NCAA has taken the next step by bringing back classic Heisman winners, and letting players add them to their favorite’s team roster and reap the benefit of having a legend on your team.

They have included some big names. Robert Griffin III, the NCAA 13 cover athlete, is appropriately a player you can place on any roster in the game. The NCAA’s only two-time Heisman winner Archie Griffin can be utilized if you download the demo. Also, Oklahoma fan favorites like Tim Tebow and Matt Leinhart can be made available if you pre-order the game at GameStop.

Here is the full list from EA Sports’ website:

  • Marcus Allen– 1981 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Southern California
  • Doug Flutie– 1984 Heisman Trophy recipient, Boston College
  • Eddie George– 1995 Heisman Trophy recipient, Ohio State University
  • Robert Griffin III– 2011 Heisman Trophy recipient, Baylor University
  • Desmond Howard– 1991 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Michigan
  • Carson Palmer– 2002 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Southern California
  • Barry Sanders– 1988 Heisman Trophy recipient, Oklahoma State University
  • Charlie Ward– 1993 Heisman Trophy recipient, Florida State University
  • Andre Ware– 1989 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Houston
  • Herschel Walker– 1982 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Georgia

The following DLC Heisman Legends are also available:

  • * Tim Brown – 1987 Heisman Trophy recipient, Notre Dame
  • * Archie Griffin – 1974 and 1975 Heisman Trophy recipient, Ohio State University
  • * Jim Plunkett – 1970 Heisman Trophy recipient, Stanford University
  • ** Mark Ingram – 2009 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Alabama
  • ** Matt Leinart – 2004 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Southern California
  • ** Tim Tebow – 2007 Heisman Trophy recipient, University of Florida

* Available through the NCAA Football 13 demo download.

** Available through NCAA Football 13 pre-order from GameStop.

Do you notice anything from that list? Sure they added some legendary Heisman winners. Also, it’s good they didn’t focus on one or two decades, and went as far back as 1970 with Jim Plunkett. However, where is the Oklahoma presence? Only three schools in the country have more Heisman winners than the University of Oklahoma.

So you would think the Sooners would get one of their fiver winners on the game, right? WRONG! Does EA Sports not think people will want to play with Billy Sims or Sam Bradford?

Of course the developers had to troll Oklahoma by putting Barry Sanders in the game. And of course, Sanders would be voted to be on the cover alongside RGIII.

Which brings me to my next point. Who would have thought an Oklahoma State AND Baylor would make it on to the cover of a NCAA Football video game before a Sooner?

So as I shake my head at EA Sports, while willingly shell out another $60 for a game that will likely decrease my productivity, I want to leave the developers with this. What do you have against the Sooner Nation?

We appreciate you putting the Sooner Schooner finally in the game. Also, they went to Norman last year to record an actual pre-game “Boomer, Sooner” crowd chant, which will be in the game.

All of these things are awesome, and make for a better gaming experience for Sooner fans, but maybe if you decide to bring back the Heisman Challenge for NCAA Football 14, include a Sooner maybe? That’d be nice.