Spencer Rattler named to Davey O’Brien QB Class of 2020

Oklahoma redshirt freshman quarterback Spencer Rattler is one of 35 candidates being considered for the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award.

Rattler is part of the Davey O’Brien Quarterback Class of 2020 announced this week by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. The Davey O’Brien Award is bestowed annually to the player deemed to be the best NCAA quarterback.

The Sooner quarterback, in his first season as the OU starter, is one of four freshman who are being considered for the prestigious national award and one of three Big 12 quarterbacks, joining Sam Ehlinger of Texas and Brock Purdy of Iowa State.

Rattler has completed 68 percent of his passes (158 of 232) for a Big 12-best 2,319 yards and 22 touchdowns through eight games. He has thrown at least two touchdown passes in seven of eight games, three in four different games and four TD tosses in three games.

The Phoenix, Arizona, native leads all NCAA freshman quarterbacks in passing touchdowns (22), passing offense (289.9 yards per game), yards per pass attempt (10.0) and total offense (304.3 ypg). Rattler ranks 10th overall nationally in passing touchdowns, 11th in passing efficiency rating (178.2), 13th in yards per pass completion (14.7) and 14th in passing offense.

Rattler was the No. 1 quarterback recruit in the 2019 national class. He was one of four five-star prospects in Oklahoma’s top-10 2019 class.

Four former Sooners have won the Davey O’Brien Award: Billy Sims in 1978 (before it was a awarded just to quarterbacks), Jason White in 2003, Sam Bradford in 2008, Baker Mayfield in 2017 and Kyler Murray in 2018.

The candidate list for the 2020 Davey O’Brien Award will be narrowed from 35 to 16 and announced on Dec. 7. The semifinalists will be selected by a national selection committee as well as a fan vote.