Oklahoma basketball: Sooner sophomore semifinalist for national award

Women’s Oklahoma basketball sophomore guard Taylor Robertson is one of 10 candidates in the running for the 2020 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award.

The national award, now in its third season recognizes the top shooting guard in NCAA Division I women’s college basketball. The award bears the name of the first college player of either gender to be named to an All-America Team in four consecutive seasons.

Robertson, who hails from McPherson, Kansas, leads the Lady Sooners in scoring this season, averaging 20 points per game. She leads NCAA Division I women’s basketball with 4.78 made three-pointers a game and is the NCAA active career leader in three-point field-goal percentage (45.2 percent on 215 of 476 made threes). She is also the active leader in career made threes per game (4.06).

The second-year Sooner player has already made good on 110 three-balls this season, which ranks second in program history for a single season and is close to both the OU (115) and Big 12 (125) single-season records for made triples.

Robertson is the only player in Big 12 women’s basketball history to record back-to-back seasons with at least 100 made three-pointers.

She has made six or more three-point shots in eight games this season, with a high of nine (out of 16) in a loss against Wichita State in late November. She has scored 20 or more points in 14 of 24 games, with a high game of 31 twice.

Robertson is the only representative from the Big 12 among the 10 semifinalists. The list will be trimmed to five finalists in March and the winner will be announced on April 10.

The past two winners of the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard of the Year Award are Asia Durr of Louisville (2019) and Victoria Vivians of Mississippi State (2018).


Load Comments