Bob Stoops, Baker Mayfield Win Top Big 12 Postseason Honors


Head coach Bob Stoops and quarterback Baker Mayfield have been named Coach and Player of the Year in the Big 12 for the 2015 season.

In addition to the top two individual awards, OU wide receiver Dede Westbrook was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year and the Big 12 champion Sooners placed nine players on the All-Big 12 First Team.

Stoops, in his 17th season on the Sooner sidelines, has received the Big 12’s Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year Award on four previous occasions (2000, 2003, 2006 and 2008). In three of those years, Oklahoma played for the national championship (2000, 2003 and 2008), winning it all in 2000, Stoops’ second season in Norman.

Sep 19, 2015; Norman, OK, USA; Oklahoma Sooners head coach Bob Stoops is seen on the field prior to the game against the Tulsa Golden Hurricane at Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

In 2006, the Sooners played Boise State in the memorable Fiesta Bowl game that ended on a trick-play two-point conversion in overtime that forever will be remembered as the day a non-major program took down one of the elite programs in college football in a major bowl game.

Mayfield, who has had an outstanding season as the Sooners’ starting quarterback, leading OU to its ninth conference championship under Stoops, is the fourth Oklahoma quarterback to be recognized as Offensive Player of the Year. Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Sam Bradford (2008) received the award previously.

Westbrook joins former Sooners Adrian Peterson (2004) and Heupel as previous winners of the Newcomer of the Year Award.

Oklahoma players who were selected to the All-Big 12 First Team are Mayfield, running back Samaje Perine, wide receiver Sterling Shepard, offensive linemen Ty Darlington and Nila Kasitati, defensive lineman Charles Tapper, linebackers Dominique Alexander and Eric Striker and defensive back Zack Sanchez.

In addition to the nine Sooner players who were named to the All-Big 12 First Team, six others were second-team selections, four of which were defensive players: tight end Mark Andrews, defensive lineman Charles Walker, linebacker Jordan Evans, defensive backs Ahmad Thomas and Jordan Thomas and punter Austin Seibert.

Oklahoma Sooners Named to 2015 All-Big 12 First-Team


QB   Baker Mayfield (Jr.)

RB   Samaje Perine (So.)

WR   Sterling Shepard (Sr.)

OL   Ty Darlington (Sr.)

OL   Nila Kasitati (Sr.)


DL   Charles Tapper (Sr.)

LB   Dominique Alexander (Jr.)

LB   Eric Striker (Sr.)

DB   Zack Sanchez (Jr.)

All-Big 12 Second Team


TE   Mark Andrews (Fr.)


DL   Charles Walker (So.)

LB   Jordan Evans (Jr.)

DB   Ahmad Thomas (Jr.)

DB   Jordan Thomas (So.)

P   Austin Seibert (Fr.)

Honorable Mention

OL   Orlando Brown (Fr.)

FB   Dimitri Flowers (So.)

DB   Steven Parker (So.)