Sep 7, 2013; Norman, OK, USA; Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Trevor Knight (9) smiles prior to the game against the West Virginia Mountaineers at Gaylord Family - Oklahoma Memorial Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports

Oklahoma Football: Trevor Knight named to 2014 Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Wednesday morning, Trevor Knight was one of few sophomores to be recognized as one of the top quarterbacks in the country. While he has a lot of work to do, Knight was named to the 2014 Davey O’Brien Award Watch List.

The Davey O’Brien Award is annually awarded to college football’s best quarterback.

Jason White won the award back-to-back years in 2003 and 2004. Sam Bradford, also, won the award in 2008.

Knight may have a leg up on those guys if he can run the ball just as well as he can throw it. Regardless of awards, however, hopefully Knight can get Oklahoma in to the exclusive party of four that will compete for the National Championship come January.

Here is the full list via the Davey O’Brien Award website:

  • Anthony Boone (Duke, Senior)
  • Terrance Broadway (Louisiana, Senior)
  • Shane Carden (East Carolina, Senior)
  • Rakeem Cato (Marshall, Senior)
  • Connor Cook (Michigan State, Junior)
  • Jeff Driskel (Florida, Junior)
  • Cody Fajardo (Nevada, Senior)
  • Devin Gardner (Michigan, Senior)
  • Jared Goff (California, Sophomore)
  • Everett Golson (Notre Dame, Junior)
  • Garrett Grayson (Colorado State, Senior)
  • Christian Hackenberg (Penn State, Sophomore)
  • Connor Halliday (Washington State, Senior)
  • Grant Hedrick (Boise State, Senior)
  • Taylor Heinicke (Old Dominion, Senior)
  • Taysom Hill (BYU, Junior)
  • Kevin Hogan (Stanford, Junior)
  • Brett Hundley (UCLA, Junior)
  • Matt Johnson (Bowling Green, Junior)
  • Chuckie Keeton (Utah State, Senior)
  • Taylor Kelly (Arizona State, Senior)
  • Cody Kessler (USC, Junior)
  • Trevor Knight (Oklahoma, Sophomore)
  • Sean Mannion (Oregon State, Senior)
  • Marcus Mariota (Oregon, Junior)
  • Nick Marshall (Auburn, Senior)
  • Hutson Mason (Georgia, Senior)
  • Braxton Miller (Ohio State, Senior)
  • John O’Korn (Houston, Sophomore)
  • Bryce Petty (Baylor, Senior)
  • Dak Prescott (Mississippi State, Junior)
  • Keenan Reynolds (Navy, Junior)
  • Joel Stave (Wisconsin, Junior)
  • P.J. Walker (Temple, Sophomore)
  • Bo Wallace (Ole Miss, Senior)
  • J.W. Walsh (Oklahoma State, Junior)
  • Jake Waters (Kansas State, Senior)
  • Davis Webb (Texas Tech, Sophomore)
  • Jameis Winston (Florida State, Sophomore)

By Conference: Pac-12 (8), Big Ten (5), Big 12 (5), SEC (5), Mountain West (4), American Athletic (3), Independents (3), ACC (2), Conference USA (2), Mid-American (1), Sun Belt (1).

By Class: Senior (19), Junior (13), Sophomore (7).

Remember to follow Stormin’ in Norman on Twitter / Facebook / Instagram

Next Sooners Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov3:30at Iowa State CyclonesBuy Tickets

Tags: Football Oklahoma Sooners

comments powered by Disqus